Long Island Village Clerks and Treasurers Association Regular Meeting

Mim's Restaurant 235 Roslyn Rd., Roslyn Heights, NY 11577 Thursday, April 11, 2024 12:00 PM

President Ronnie Shatzkamer – Present 1st Vice President Pamela Walsh Boening - Present 2nd Vice President Joanna Palumbo - Present **Secretary Chrissy Kiernan – Present Treasurer Denise Mordente – Present Association Counsel Bob Smith - Present** Nassau Director Kate Hillmann – Present Nassau Director Taylor Reynolds - Present Suffolk Director Barbara Sakovich - Present **Suffolk Director Cathy Sweeney – Present Executive Committee David Fraser - Present Executive Committee Liz Gaynor- Absent**

At approximately 12:30p.m., President Ronnie Shatzkamer started the April General Meeting with the Pledge of Allegiance which was followed by a roll call of the Executive Board and introductions of attendees. Mayor Bonnie Parent noted that it was her first meeting.

- 1. MINUTES OF THE 3/14/24 GENERAL MEETING On motion by Marianne Lobaccaro, seconded by Joanna Palumbo, it was unanimously resolved to approve the minutes of the March 14, 2024 Regular Meeting as prepared and circulated by Secretary Kiernan.
- 2. TREASURER'S REPORT OF 4/11/24 On motion by Joanna Palumbo, seconded by Pam Walsh Boening, it was unanimously resolved to approve the Treasurer's Report of April 11, 2024, as prepared by Treasurer Mordente and circulated by Secretary Kiernan.
- 3. NOMINATING COMMITTEE Nominating Committee Chairperson Marianne Lobaccaro reported that the Nominating Committee proposed slate was submitted to the Secretary at least three days prior to the April meeting per the Association By-laws. Marianne then read the proposed slate of officers for 2024/2025 aloud which she noted was submitted by the Nominating Committee consisting of herself as Chair, and members Ronnie Shatzkamer, Denise Mordente, and Chrissy Kiernan:

2024/2024 Proposed Nominating Slate of Offices – LIVCTA Executive Board

President Pamela Walsh Boening Village of Freeport Joanna Palumbo

First Vice President

Village of East Williston

Second Vice President Cathy M. Sweeney

Village of Southampton

Secretary Chrissy Kiernan

Village of Westbury

Treasurer Denise Mordente

Village of Great Neck

Nassau Director Cathryn Hillman

Village of Laurel Hollow

Nassau Director Taylor Reynolds

Village of Hempstead

Suffolk Director Barbara Sakovich

Village of Belle Terre

Suffolk Director Christine Cozine

Village of The Branch

Executive Committee Liz Gaynor

Village of Sands Point

Dave Fraser

City of Long Beach

Association Counsel Robert P. Smith, Esq.

Marianne also reported that the membership will have the opportunity to vote at the May meeting and added that nominations may also be made from the floor at that time.

- **4. GOLF COMMITTEE** Chrissy Kiernan reported that golf registration is sold out and that we are on a waitlist. Dinner tickets may still be purchased for \$100 per person. There are sponsorship and tee sign opportunities still available. Tee signs are \$150. Sponsors are \$500. You can donate amenities or raffle prizes for the outing. All proceeds from the outing will go toward LIVCTA scholarships for our members to pursue their professional certifications/education.
- 5. SUNSHINE COMMITTEE President Shatzkamer and Marianne Lobaccaro presented a certificate to Sue Walsh who will be retiring from the Village of Floral Park. President Shatzkamer shared that Sue was a previous New York State Association of City & Village Clerks Clerk of the Year recipient. She has been involved with our organization for many years. Well wishes were made. Sue thanked the Association for many years of friendship and introduced her replacement, Joe O'Grady.
- **6. OLD BUSINESS** None.
- **7. NEW BUSINESS** –Dan Acquilano from the Office of the State Comptroller was the April meeting speaker. Dan covered a variety of topics including common audit findings, payroll certification process, and took Q&A from the membership.
- **8. NEXT MEETING** May 9, 2024, 12:00pm at Captain Bill's in Bay Shore Speaker to be determined.

There being no further business, upon a motion by Pam Walsh Boening, seconded by Suzanne Tangredi, it was unanimously resolved to close the meeting.

Respectfully submitted, Chrissy Kiernan Secretary